Chapter 1: Getting Organized for Writing

Chapter 1 is a great introduction to PR writing. Although much of it is a review of what I learned in my intro class, I did discover some intriguing information. I did not realize that technicians spend about 70 percent of their time working on a computer (Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques). That’s a large chunk of their time!

It shocked me to learn that many public relations employers screen job applicants through the use of current event quizzes to determine the scope of an individual’s interest and intellectual curiosity (Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques). I have always felt that it is necessary to be an informed citizen. In fact, I like being aware of current events and what’s going on in the world. Even so, I never thought that being informed was a major requirement in the PR field.

Although I am familiar with writing guidelines in PR, I think it is necessary for me to remember to ask six basic question suggested by Kerry Tucker and Doris Derelian before beginning any writing assignment (Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques).  Answering these questions will allow me to create the most effective message using the right channel(s) for the target audience. They include:

1) What is the desired communication outcome? In other words, what do we want our audience to do or not do?

2) Who is out target audience? Defining your audience in terms of age, gender, and educational level helps set the framework of the message.

3) What are our target audience’s needs, concerns, and interests?

4) What is our message? Do you want to inform or persuade?

5) What communication channel is most effective?

6) Who is our most believable spokesperson?

I found the recommendations on word choice to be helpful. I like using “stately” words, but the text reminded me that they may not be as easily understood to the general public. The “reader-friendly” suggestions will help ensure that the message is understood and well-received (Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques).

One response to this post.

  1. I have to agree with you about how chapter 1 was definitely very helpful and interesting at the same time. It had a lot of interesting facts and things that I did not know as well. When you mentioned that having to be informed with what’s going on around the world in order to be a good PR person I had the same thoughts myself. I never knew until recently how much you really have to be in the know in order to do your job well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

