TOW #1: Social Media

See full size image       See full size image   See full size image

I currently participate in several forms of social media, including blogging and social networking. Obviously, I use WordPress for blogging. My blog is strictly professional, as I use it for my public relations courses. However, I will say that blogging has mostly been an enjoyable experience. Reading posts and giving and receiving comments are, to me, the most enriching aspects of blogging. There are so many people to meet and such a great deal to learn. Blogging is the perfect way to do just that.

For social networking, I use Facebook and Twitter. It’s difficult for me to say which I enjoy most, for they have different features. Facebook allows you to post albums, chat live, play games, and explore a person’s interests, background, and personality. These aspects aren’t really offered via Twitter. The biggest reason I became a Facebook member was because so many of my friends had accounts. Naturally, I wanted to get involved and connect with my friends, as well as to see what all the fuss was about. 😉

My initial thoughts on Twitter, however, were a different story. My understanding of Twitter was that it was simply a boring feed of status updates. Because Facebook offered this same feature in addition to many others, it seemed pointless to establish a Twitter account. Even so, a friend convinced me to sign up and give it a try. After I discovered some people and businesses worth following, it became something I enjoyed. Based on those I follow, I receive news updates, inspirational quotes, info on new products, helpful tips and hints from PR professionals, links to various articles, and, of course, updates from friends. Although many of my friends don’t use Twitter, I find it to be enriching and intriguing. A great aspect of both networking sites are the applications available for my smart phone. I can access them anytime when I’m on the go.

One response to this post.

  1. I love Facebook and Twitter. I use them both daily. Twitter is the better of the two to me. I have an app on my phone for it and update it on a regular, maybe TOO MUCH…You should follow me @dwayne_swoosh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

