R.I.P. The Newspaper: 2017

Australian futurist Ross Dawson has determined the death of the newspaper on a global scale (Blog Post). He predicts that newspapers will be dead in the US by 2017 and by 2019 for the UK. Dawson’s predictions are based on the rise of technology, including  the availability of mobile phones, tablet computers and e-readers. He used infographics to illustrate the demise of newspapers with color-coded  maps.

I’m not sure that I agree with Dawson. Personally, I like having a hard copy, something tangible that I can hold in my hand. Everyone is different; Some people like technology and others don’t. I was unable to find Dawson’s research or any statistics that he based his hypothesis on. This makes it even less believable. Do I think they will diminish by 2017, sure. But will they completely disappear, I doubt it. I guess we’ll have to wait until 2017 to find out.

One response to this post.

  1. I agree with both you and Dawson. I do agree that newspapers are already dimineshing as we speak, but at the same time I do believe that people still like having a hard copy in their hands to read. With technology being so advanced now it’s so much easier to catch up on the news by logging onto your computer, phone, or even your ipad. I cannot wait to see how technology will change in the future. It’s exciting but at the same time it is scary to see just how advanced technology is becoming. However, I do agree with you, I’m not sure if the newspaper will completely dry up and disapear by 2017, but I do agree that it won’t be as popular by 2017. But like you said we will just have to wait and see when the time comes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

